MTECHTIPS;-Gold Prices Slip as Dollar Steadies After Fed

Spread the love

MTECHTIPS;-Gold Prices Slip as Dollar Steadies After Fed

MTECHTIPS-Gold prices slipped on Thursday after the dollar steadied after the Federal Reserve concluded a two-days policy meeting and gave an upbeat assessment on the U.S. economy. Gold futures for December delivery on the Comex division of the New York Mercantile Exchange fell by $0.6, or 0.06%, to $1,227.00 a troy ounce by 1:40 AM ET (05:40 GMT).   The Fed left interest rates unchanged following a two-day policy meeting, as widely expected. The central bank then upgraded its view on the economy.   The committee said it expects that “further gradual increases in the target range for the federal funds rate will be consistent with sustained expansion of economic activity, strong labor market conditions, and inflation near the committee’s symmetric 2 percent objective.”  The U.S. dollar index, which tracks the greenback against a basket of other currencies, gained 0.11% to 94.56 by 12:30AM ET (04:30 GMT). “The Fed delivered rather hawkish comments in the statement emphasizing the strength of the U.S. economy,” said , head of G 10 FX strategy, at Citigroup Global Markets Japan